Skip to main content

Sierra Nevada REALTORS® Announces 2023 Award Recipients

Sierra Nevada REALTORS® (SNR) is excited to reveal the winners of the 2023 Sierra Nevada REALTORS® Awards. Discover the award recipients below, along with a brief bio and a link to their headshots.

Christie Fernquest and Sara Sharkey – REALTORS® of the Year

This award honors REALTORS® who have gone above and beyond in their membership. This year, two recipients received the REALTOR® of the Year award. With a combined 40 years of real estate experience, Christie and Sara worked relentlessly to restructure two Associations. As Co-Presidents, they served on all 12 Association committees to ensure the best aspects of each previous association were incorporated into one Sierra Nevada REALTORS®. Furthermore, they continued to promote the value of working with a REALTOR®, provide insight into the real estate market, and manage their businesses. United, Christie and Sara elevated Sierra Nevada REALTORS® to new heights.

Jorge Montoya – Affiliate of the Year

This award recognizes an Affiliate Member for their dedication, passion, and commitment to the REALTOR® community and their hometown. Jorge Montoya earned this award for his contributions to Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Action through the IDEA Committee and his eagerness to answer the call. Jorge has helped Sierra Nevada REALTORS® expand the value of homeownership through Spanish radio, TV, Homebuyer Seminars, and inspiring others to bring that same enthusiasm to their clients.

Alisa Andrews and Jessica Hodges – Mat Gibbons Good Neighbor Award

This award is given to a REALTOR® who has not only served the Association but also their community. Alisa Andrews quietly dedicates her time to Spirit of Hope, which provides temporary housing, services, and programs to assist those in need. This includes developing life skills and training to help them reintegrate into the community. Jessica Hodges has dedicated over five years to Kids Cottage, which supports children entering the foster care program by providing beds, clothing, toys, and other items to ease their transition into a new environment during stressful situations.

Brad Spires – Abraham Curry Award

This award is presented to someone who has advocated for the real estate industry and private property rights. Brad Spires, a retired Air Force pilot, is a Past President of Sierra Nevada REALTORS® and Nevada REALTORS®. Brad has worked for over 30 years to protect private property rights and the real estate industry at local and state levels. He continues to work in real estate while advocating for REALTORS® and participates in meaningful legislative changes to advance homeownership rights.

Margaret Finel – Educator of the Year

This award is given to an instructor who has received high marks from students and gone above and beyond to provide the highest level of education. Margaret Finel, a REALTOR® for over ten years, has committed time and energy to enhance and expand educational resources for Sierra Nevada REALTORS®. She has spent hundreds of hours writing new courses, updating existing courses, all while managing her real estate business. Students who take her courses can feel her passion for the industry and recognize that education is the best path to providing top-notch service to clients.

To view headshots of all award recipients, click here.

About Sierra Nevada Realtors

Sierra Nevada Realtors® is a REALTOR® association serving six northern Nevada counties, including Washoe, Lyon, Storey, Churchill, Carson, and Douglas Counties. The unified Sierra Nevada Realtors® is a leading voice on the residential housing market in northern Nevada and nationally, representing more than 3,700 members.

Orginal article: Link To Article – provided by Kansas City Realtors